So. What’s Your Story?

[Originally posted to my blog ‘Point of Tears’ on May 25, 2005.]

I’m sitting here thinking and staring at the screen because the President’s Secretary asked me to write a blurb for graduation about my experience here. See, we’re not all that huge of an institution and graduation’s a little personal. Well . . . that and the fact that the President is too lazy to get off his butt and write a speech. Right.

So for the last two years the President’s office has asked for faculty members and staff to write a short piece about a student who is graduating so he can read it at graduation. Lucky me had someone stop by the President’s office to remind them that *I’m* graduating and how great it would be to hear my story.

~sigh~

I think I’m jaded. While I’m excited about graduating I just keep wanting to tell people to not make a big deal about it and get irritated when they stand in front of my desk and gush on for five minutes about how cool it is that I’m graduating.

Of course, secretly I want them to throw me a big surprise party and tell cool stories about me that would make me blush and make me go, “aw shucks!” But we won’t tell me anything about that. I’d just get pissed.

Sooooooo . . since I’m kinda stuck I thought I’d be able to write it better here, in this venue. The email I’ve got set up right now just isn’t working. All I’m doing is staring at the blinking cursor.

Let’s see . . .

When I got out of the Marine Corps eight years ago I didn’t have any idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. So I did temp jobs for about a year, until I lucked out and found myself at Mission College for the first time. Of course, I didn’t realize that it was a lucky thing at the time. I was there interviewing for just another temp job. I got the job, and have been here since. Over the years Mission College became more than just a job. Mission became my second family.

It was because of them, my Mission family and my family at home, that I’ve made it this far. They encouraged me when I voiced my dreams, supported me when I needed a helping hand, and kicked me in the pants to get me back on track. They told me that I could do anything, and after beating it into my head for years, I finally believed them. So thanks to both of my families. I couldn’t have done it without you.

——–

Sappy, yes? Joyous.

Leave a Reply

