Much Too Long

It’s been much too long between posts and I apologize.  There was much upheaval and I’m still refocusing myself. 

I have though, worked on another swap package since my last post.  This was the Disney Swap on Craftster and was lucky enough to be blessed with a wonderful swap partner.  For her I created three art pieces using key words and Disney characters. Tinkerbell is her favorite character and I really do love her; but of the pieces I sent I have to say that the Belle one is my favorite.  I also made a tic tac toe set out of felt for her children.  The artwork is on a cotton/poly blend and is crayon tinted,  hand embroidered and then watercolors were used.  I’m not a big fan of glitter, but these pieces called out for a touch of it to finish them off.

 

 

 

Since my last post my daughter has graduated from Junior High and is now “officially” in high school.  Someone please save me. Really. I’m serious now.  I just got over the shock and dismay of finding out about her first boyfriend and now THIS? Really.

Not sure which quote fits this moment better:

Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. 

– Elizabeth Stone

OR

It kills you to see them grow up.  But I guess it would kill you quicker if they didn’t.  – Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

This weekend is Father’s Day and I have to admit I miss my Dad.  We’ve been out of touch for a while due to some old issues between us and, I rarely admit it, it’s hard on me.  Growing up I was “Daddy’s Girl” and despite all of our differences, I love him with all of my heart.  Unfortunately growing up is not without it’s growing pains…sometimes for both parent and child.

 

Old as she was, she still missed her daddy sometimes. – Gloria Naylor

 

I’ll leave you with a couple of sites to visit at your leisure.  During my recent upheaval I’ve been working on maintaining a positive outlook on life.  These are some sites that help me do that.

Ode Magazine – For Intelligent Optimists: Check out their online content and sign up to receive their “Good News” newsletter in your inbox.

Daily Good:  Positive news and inspiration from around the world.

Ted.com:  Ideas worth spreading. I’m hooked on all of the videos.  Awesome stuff.

Well, I hope I made up somewhat for the long break.  Hope everyone is dong well!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Much Too Long

  1. Sarita says:

    I discovered your blog while browsing through flickr looking for inspiration on early Christmas crafting 🙂 and I am glad because I LOVE your posts!
    I am also a single mother, of a 4 yr. old Princess and presently I am going through some difficult times, not only financially but with some depression issues as well so the links you share will be very handy – thank you for sharing them!
    I will be back often to enjoy some more or your insightful posts.
    Greetings from Mexico ~

  2. fatewineroses says:

    Thanks Sarita! I really hope they help. I definitely know where you are coming from.

Leave a Reply

