Lucky Tea Towels

Sadly I still have projects to finish that were for Christmas.  I have them piled in my project boxes waiting for me to start them; but in a fit of pique I decided I wanted to complete something for ME and decided to put those aside for a few days. So I pulled out a lovely set of tea towels I received for Christmas from an acquaintance.  One of them had a cute applique snowman, but the other two were blank.  I couldn’t have that! LoL

Since the towels were a light blue gingham instead of a solid color I wanted to do something using one color versus multi-colors.  I thought it would make more of a statement and not make the towels busier than they already were.

I didn’t really have a theme in mind.  My daughter wants to go with a Toontown theme in the kitchen after seeing the tea towels I embroidered for my brother and sister-in-law (keep your eyes peeled for a post on that later); but I really couldn’t think of anything Toontown related that would work. So I went through the many images I’ve collected over the last couple of months to see if there was anything appropriate.

In my collection I found a picture of the maneki neko or Japanese lucky cat.  I’ve always been fond of the lucky cat (they’re so cute!) and have an underlying love of Asian symbology..add to that my recent bout of bad luck and I thought it would be a great theme for my two little tea towels!

So I decided on the maneki neko for one towel, and had a light bulb flash on fortune cookies for the other towel.  I found a simple line drawing of a fortune cookie and used that to hand draw fortune cookies and loose fortunes on the towel. Then I found a website with kanji symbols in just the right size for the backs of the towels.    Each towel has two kanji symbols to attract wealth and prosperity.  I used red thread, which shows up pretty well on the light blue and also stands for prosperity in Japan.  It’s often used for New Year’s greetings.

I always enjoy embroidery but making something that would end up in my home was awful nice.  I hope you like them as much as I do!

2 thoughts on “Lucky Tea Towels

  1. bookwormbethie says:

    These deserve a second comment! These are lovely! I hope your cookie “fortunes” come true in 2009!

    I know how you feel about wanting to do something stitchy for you! I spent a little over 3 months making all homemade stitchy gifts for our families.

  2. Shari says:

    I love these towels with their optimistic fortunes! Very nice work!!

Leave a Reply

